Let’s Talk About… Open Shelving

I’m no expert on interior design or ascetics in general, but I’d like to think I have an idea of what looks good to most people.  I noticed that The Kitchen posted an open forum regarding open shelving and I was intrigued.  Alex and I are looking into doing a bit of open shelving in our tiny kitchen, to create more of an open space above the sink and on the sides.  I’d also love to have a few shelves over the stove.

So, after some research and reading of some of the comments, what do I think about open shelving? Is it a fad? Does it work? Or as the open forum asked, “Does it effect the resale value of your home?”

I think that while it might not be entirely practical, it can be useful and aesthetically pleasing, if used correctly.  Open shelving can collect dust and if one isn’t organized, open shelving can prove to be more of a hassle than it’s worth.  So maybe a few questions need to be asked:

1. Am I organized?

2. Do I have pretty dishes?

3.  Am I a clean person?

If the answer to ALL of these is yes, I would say… go for it!

As far as the resale value?  One commenter said it best:

“Everything on earth is pretty much “a fad” and will eventually seem dated. Designing your house for some future buyer is a huge waste of time and money. Return on such improvements is generally minimal (and I say that as an architect). I guarantee you that whatever you have, the person who buys your house will remodel something and will not have your tastes.

Make your place work for you now, so you an enjoy it and don’t worry about the needs of some future, unknown person.” – DCarl1

Here, here!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Let’s Talk About… Open Shelving”

  1. Justine Says:

    I thought this post was insightful. I always think open shelving looks so cool in kitchens. I would love to have that in my kitchen one day but I do think about the dust factor and how that would not be fun. You definitely would need some pretty dishes too…geesh, if only I wasnt such a cheapo/procrastinator, i would be able to do something like that. You on the other hand seem totally organized and have a really cute kitchen with pretty dishes as well. I think you might just be able to pull it off! heh

  2. Jeanette Says:

    I’ve always enjoyed open shelving. It makes me think of a more european kitchen aesthetic.

Leave a Reply

