I’ve Never… Recovered a Lamp Shade

Okay, I know it might not be very exciting, but like I said… start small and work my way up to something big.  I’m starting to remember why I’m passionate about crafting and thrifting.  It’s so freeing and accomplishing.

For me anyway, creation stems from necessity and I really needed some new lampshades.  I have these old faded ones from IKEA (we got them right after we got married – 2 years ago), and they needed a little punch of Anthropologie, without the price tag.

I set out to turn these dingy, old, green lamps shades into some ruffly anthropologiesque ones.  Here’s a bit of the process.

This part was a total pain!  I even broke the lamp shade a little.  Oops.

I had about 7 strips of ruffle total.  I wanted to do 5, but I measured wrong. Oh, well… that’s what this is about right?

Ah, finally placing the ruffle on.  I almost forgot the whole thing and just made an awesome skirt, but I knew I needed to finish it!

Tada!!

The whole process took about 3 hours, but it was a lesson in trial and error.  It was extremely fun and I love the finished product. Check out how awesome it looks on my bed side table?

Check back for next week’s “I’ve Never…

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “I’ve Never… Recovered a Lamp Shade”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Nice job, Nat! :)

  2. Amber Lopez Says:

    Chris and I just bought some ’60s lamps from a swap meet last weekend that look very similar to your original shades. You’ll see them when you come over…!

  3. Christina Ellis Says:

    That’s awesome!

  4. Granulated Sugar Says:

    i use lamp shades with CFL ubls instead of incandescent lamps, they are much cooler and uses less electricity .`~

Leave a Reply

