Home Sweet Home

Many of you know that Alex and I have been searching and searching… and… searching for a house.  We looked very specifically and then very broadly for a house that we can call home sweet home.  Well… I am pleased to announce that after two months of looking and only ONE offer, we’ve found it!  A home sweet home.  Its quite an amazing story, so pull up a chair and stay a while…

Last Monday, Mike – our awesome Realtor and friend, sent us some homes via his MLS.  There were about 12 houses for us to look at and we liked about 5 of them.  We decided that on Wednesday we would go out and look at them.  To our surprise, Mike called us on Wednesday afternoon and said that all the houses we wanted to look at were already in escrow, but the Realtors hadn’t changed them in the MLS system yet… all but one, that is.  This cute quaint 50’s house off the 215 freeway between Riverside and Redlands.  We loved it at first sight on the Internet so we were unbelievably stoked to still have a chance to look at it.

We arrived around 5:30 pm and once we got out, we were in love: a front porch, two huge trees, a red door… “If we look inside, I might faint.”

House_1

Oh, my! Refinished original hardwood flooring, new paint, clean white base boards, a newly finished kitchen, a new stove, new water heater, new a/c, two glorious bedrooms, a bathroom with a pedestal sink and a claw tub – yeah I said it, a claw tub – exposed piping and everything.  “I might cry.”

House_2House_5House_3

Then the backyard… a huge tree, a back patio, room for expansion, and a detached garage, with it’s own driveway – HUGE enough to hold the Lopez family heirloom, Sam the Oldsmobile. “This is too good to be true.”

House_4House_6

Then Mike told us a little bit about the house.  The gentleman that bought it back in April, bought it on the cheap and flipped it.  He probably put about $20,000 worth of work into it and totally made it the perfect place for the two of us.  Its amazing to think that all the love and care we would pour into this house wouldn’t have to be work we need to do, but work we WANT to do. We loved it!

We went back to Mike’s office to write up an offer while Alex and I did some more research on the place.  Here’s the low down: It’s in a neighborhood with new developments to one side and a business district on the other, absolutely no crime has ever taken place there – from tagging to murder – none, the neighbors are nice and many of them have keep up their homes quite nicely as well.  The house has been up for sale for over a month with NO OFFERS – NONE! – that’s unheard of in this market.  We were beginning to feel that the Lord had set this house aside for us, so we prayed and hard.

The Realtor that Mike had been speaking with said that it would be a quick turn around because there wasn’t much competition so we were extremely hopeful.  He told Mike that another offer came through that was very similar to ours, but they were offering 30% down.  “Oh no, a conventional offer!”  We didn’t loose hope.  Thursday, Friday, Monday… still, we hadn’t heard anything.  I text-ed Mike on Monday afternoon to ask if he had heard anything and he hadn’t, but he’d left two messages.  He was encouraging, but told us if we hadn’t heard anything by now, they probably had gone with the other offer.  “I still think this is the house the Lord wants us to have, but my faith is shaken.  Lord, please help me have hope.”

Last night at 8:00 pm, Mike called Alex to ask him some questions about Google Voice – it’s pretty cool so check it.  They talked for about 10 minutes and then Mike said, “So _________ called and left a message saying that they accepted your offer.”

Alex: “What?! Are you kidding?”

Mike: “No! I called him back to find out all the details and they accepted it, as is… no changes!  I normally wouldn’t call until I’ve received the official letter, but I know you guys were praying about it, so go celebrate and congratulations.  You’re getting a house!”

Alex: “Oh my gosh!”

Meanwhile… I’m on the phone with my friend Diana who is telling me about an amazing opportunity she just got to design a lobby for a rock-climbing company in Riverside and I’m hearing Alex talk to Mike saying, “Oh my gosh!” in the background.  I was really excited for her, but like I selfish jerk, I wanted to know what was going on (love you D, sorry again!).  I got off the phone with her and went to the bedroom.  Alex got off the phone and he came up to me with a side smile and said, “They accepted our offer.”

I screamed and cried and jumped up and down.  I jumped so high and so much that I bumped Alex in the face and made his lip bleed, but he didn’t care.  We were too excited!

So there you have it!  We’re starting the paperwork today, so keep us in prayer as there are things still left to do! And in the words of Dirk Dallas, “PTL!”

House_1

Tags: , ,

19 Responses to “Home Sweet Home”

  1. Jonna Says:

    YAYAYAYAYAAAAYYYYY!!!!! CONGRATULASHUNZ!!!!!

  2. Alex The Husband Says:

    HOME SWEET HOME SWEET HOME!

  3. Dirk Says:

    CONGRATS guys!!!!!!! Awesome news!!!!!!!

  4. Alicia Dallas Says:

    Congratulations to you guys! So exciting. An amazing milestone. Don’t forget to document EVERYTHING! You’ll love looking back on the house and all you did and all the work it took to get there. So happy for you guys!

  5. Jamie Says:

    Congratulations, Alex and Natalee!! What a cute lil’ house! May the Lord bless you for years to come in your new home.

  6. Megan Says:

    Woohoo!!! I am so excited for you guys! So awesome! The house is absolutely amazing. Perfect. We need to do a weekend of visits or something…you to see our place, and us to see yours. Can’t wait! Love you guys!

  7. Debbie Ives Says:

    I’m so excited for the two of you – what a perfect house! I can’t wait to see what you guys do with it. PTL indeed.

  8. kayellen Says:

    How exciting!!!Home owners:)))
    Congrats to you both!!!
    What a blessing,

    Smiles,
    Kay

  9. Thank You! « bricka brack Says:

    […] bricka brack the nooks and crannies of life. « Home Sweet Home […]

  10. Foto Friday… « bricka brack Says:

    […] I wanted to share with you two photos that inspired me today.  I’m loving the color palate for both of these and I’m especially loving that outfit.  Maybe I’ll be doing a project like this first photo in our new place! […]

  11. Debbie Says:

    I’m sooooooo happy for you and Alex…..an answer to prayer!

  12. Lloyd & Sharon Thorin Says:

    We are truly happy for you. We remember looking at houses before our wedding. We finally settled on bulding new as we could not find any that we liked. We were able to pick the type of house and the floor plan we wanted. We have been in the same place for 41 years. We have made some improvements over the years and added some special touches.

Leave a Reply

