DIY: Cake Platters & Chocolate Frosting

This past Wednesday was my brother-in-laws birthday. 

photo_2

His fiance planned a surprise party and wanted me to make his favorite: yellow cake with chocolate frosting.  I was so set on creating everything from scratch because in the past, I have had some horrible yellow cakes with chocolate frosting.  I found a sweet recipe on-line at the joy of baking and was set.  However, when it came down to it, I just didn’t have time to make it all from scratch, nor the money.  I decided on making the frosting from scratch and to stick with the Betty Crocker extra moist butter yellow cake and I would mix in a little vanilla for a better flavor. 

I originally tripled the recipe for the frosting because I was making three small round cakes, but now I’m swimming in chocolate at my house.  One and a half times should be enough.  I also added some fresh strawberries for show… well, and taste.

Frosting:

8 ounces of bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped.

1/4 cup of cocoa powder

3/4 cup milk

1/2 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces

3 cups powdered sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Directions:  In a stainless steel bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, place the chopped chocolate, cocoa powder, milk, and butter.  Stir until the chocolate has melted and the mixture is smooth.  Remove from heat and beat in, with a hand mixer or wire whisk, the powdered sugar and vanilla extract.  If the frosting is lumpy, strain through a strainer to remove any lumps (I had to do this!).  Cover and place the frosting in the refrigerator until it is firm (this may take a few hours).  Once the frosting is firm remove from refrigerator and place in your mixing bowl.  Beat the frosting for a minute or two or until it is nice and smooth and of spreading consistency.  YUM!

I was also completely set on a three tiered cake stand I saw at Michael’s, which ended up being $60.00.  So, I resorted to DIY.  I found a great idea for making a cupcake stand from Once Wed and used the same idea to create a three tiered(ish) cake stand.  And here are the fruits of my labor:

photo_3photo_5

All photos by Jonna Isaac.

Who said you need to spend a fortune?! Get inspired.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “DIY: Cake Platters & Chocolate Frosting”

  1. Amber Says:

    Thanks again for doing that! It turned out great! I’ll post all the photos as soon as I get a CD of them from Pam.

  2. kayellen Says:

    Looks like you all had a lot of fun!!

    Smiles,
    K

  3. City Chocolate Fountains Says:

    You look like this was quite an event. Thank you, I am always looking for yummy recipes. I also adored the creativity of the Cake stands. It looks like so much fun!

  4. megan Says:

    Holy Moly! Those cakes look delicious!!! Bravo Nat

  5. skil cordless screwdriver Says:

    Interesting – because that is the same thing I found out last week.

  6. 1stgrambo Says:

    This is VERY good!! Smooth, tasty, fairly easy to do. I used milk chocolate chips & nonfat milk & it still turned out great. I used regular butter which made it a bit too salty for my tastes, but I think normal people would think it was fine. I didn’t chill it until it was firm, just left it in the refrigerator for about an hour. At this point it was still pretty runny, but I took it out & started beating it with the wire whisk beaters in my mixer. It thickened up to a nice consistancy & spread easily. This will be my go-to recipe for chocolate frosting from now on.

  7. 1stgrambo Says:

    PS-I forgot to say that this recipe as is made plenty of frosting for a 13″ x 9″ cake. I probably could have frosted another 8″ layer or more.

  8. Jayme @ Skil Depot Says:

    Hi, just doing some browsing for my Skil site. Can’t believe the amount of information out there. Looking for something else, but interesting page. Have a good day.

  9. Stove Says:

    Stove…

    […]DIY: Cake Platters & Chocolate Frosting « bricka brack[…]…

Leave a Reply

