DIY: Picnic Blanket

Remember the D*S double sided picnic blanket?  blanketdiyI finally got the chance to make one!  Here’s a little background:

My roommate Crisa is taking her hubby on a picnic this weekend.  Her hubby is away, and has been for almost a year now, in officer’s training for the Marines.  They both are some of the bravest most God fearing people I know.  Crisa has been so fantastically supportive of TJ.  Imagine only being able to talk to your husband over the phone everyday (if you’re lucky) and she him every six weeks.  I know that some have it worse, but I just know that the Lord has completely been with them through it all.  So, all that being said… they deserve a weekend to enjoy each other, the wonderful weather, and a fun picnic (with a blanket made by yours truly).

The design*sponge pattern is so easy to follow!  It literally took me and hour to make the whole thing and I think it only took that long becuase it was 10:00 pm when I started.  I also read a few of the comments and decided to make a few embelishments of my own.  I had some left over fabric so I made a few pillows (I attached some felt rosettes too) and I made a cute felt strap with a white button for the blanket to fold up nice and neat with.

Here’s the result.

DSC_0573DSC_0569DSC_0582

I’m truly pleased with the result.  If you are interested in owning one of these cute sets, leave me comment or shoot me and email for pricing and colors.

Get inspired!

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “DIY: Picnic Blanket”

  1. Megan Says:

    I LOVE this, Nat! You are truly talented. Phil and I might have to buy one of these for late summer picnics once we are married. =)

  2. Jonna Says:

    It turned out SO cute!! Did you make all of that last night?!

  3. Andrea Says:

    If I went on picnics I would proudly sport one of these sets!

  4. natlpz Says:

    Dre,

    You don’t go on picnics?!?!

  5. Andrea Says:

    Never had the opportunity arise I guess =/

Leave a Reply

