Domino Magazine Closing It’s Doors

6a00d8341c6a0853ef010536fe5ed2970c

I can’t believe this is happening!  My mom will vouche for me when I say that I look forward to every months edition of Domino Magazine, especially recently.  I true find it inspirational for all the areas of my life and will be sad to see it go.  I’m glad that I’ve keep so many copies and now in 35 years, maybe be rich when I sell them (trying to make light of the situation).  Read the following press release from today:

Condé Nast Folds Domino

The Web site will also be discontinued

Jan 28, 2009

-By Lucia Moses

“Condé Nast made the long-expected decision to close Domino, the publishing company’s three-year-old, hip shelter magazine. The March issue will be the last. The editor and publisher, Deborah Needleman and Beth Brenner, will leave the company. Some staffers are expected to be placed elsewhere in the company.

The Web site, also will be discontinued.

In making the announcement, company president/CEO Chuck Townsend said the decision was purely based on the softened economy, which has already claimed a handful of other shelter books. This year through February, Domino’s ad pages tumbled 51 percent to 22 percent, per the Mediaweek Monitor.

Launched in 2005, the title achieved a rate base of 800,000. But observers have said that in addition to the hard-hit housing market, the title had some difficulty explaining its positioning in the marketplace.

Earlier this month, Condé Nast handed the title to publishing exec Bill Wackermann to oversee, in addition to his current responsibility for Glamour and the company’s bridal books.”

Fellow bloggers comment on what a loss this is at OhJoy! and Design Sponge.
3 Responses to “Domino Magazine Closing It’s Doors”

  1. Jonna Says:

    First Pushing Daisies, now this? Why?! I don’t understand. I hate them.

  2. megan Says:

    AHHH! This is terrible. Whenever I see Domino I think of you Natalee… I think we should have a moment of silence for this wonderfully creative magazine. It shall be sorely missed.

  3. Andrea Says:

    I’m sorry Natalee but I was one of those to cancel my subscription pushing them out of business I’m afraid… can we still be friends?

Leave a Reply

