the next chapter…

As you all may know, I’ve recently been offered an Administrative Assistant position at CBU.  I am so excited to start this new job but can’t help reflect on this past year and on the new chapters my life is beginning to write.

We’ve been married 9 months now and it’s truly flown by.  We’ve had plenty of ups and downs while we struggled with finances, learning how to live with each other, balancing schedules, planning and cooking meals, having together time and alone time, spiritual changes and searches, and most of all finding out about ourselves as a couple.  It’s been an adventure and I honestly don’t know if I could have done it with anyone else.  Just this evening Alex let me drive home.  Now, it’s not how it sounds… he drives a stick and I am terrified to drive it (mostly due to my father’s lessons when I was younger… love you dad). But he challenged me and I drove all the way home without stalling once. That’s what I mean, Alex knows when to push me and when to pull back.  It’s been amazing to see how our friendship and courtship has only helped our marriage.  There are just some days where neither one of us feels like being married (in the typical, we need to do everything together and stay inside all day sense) and it’s great on those days to feel like we can be friends and go shopping or be creative together (I wasn’t actually expecting this blog to turn out to be about my marriage, but looks like God had other plans).

In about two months we’re going to move back to Riverside.  It been amazing to see how the Lord has used Redlands to help us become independent from our parents and create our own lives and make our own choices. They have been so supportive in what we’re sure has been a difficult thing to accept and cope with. I know I appreciate their understanding so much.  We’ve taken these last 9 months and re-examined everything from the activities we’re involved in, to the church we attend, to the friends we hang out with.  All to realize that we can have our own lives right in our hometown. We love our church, our families and our friends.  But moving away definitely taught us how to claim our independence and I am so appreciative. This “moving back home” is going to be a test for us but we’re ready for the challenge.

In January, Alex and I will not only be celebrating our 1st year of marriage together, but we’ll be going back to school.  The most amazing thing that has come out of this opportunity  at CBU is that I will be able to receive the Christian education I’ve always wanted but could never afford and Alex will get to share the wealth as well. I can’t believe how amazing the Lord is. Every time I would see an opportunity to sign up for classes at CSUSB, I’d hit a road block. It’s like the Lord was telling me to trust and wait. And what an amazing thing that has come from “putting off” my education. I’m so excited to finish my degree and start this next chapter in our lives. Keep us in your prayers as we keep you in ours.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “the next chapter…”

  1. Saba Yousaf Says:

    To Go for that job and stop waiting around for losers.

  2. Jeanette Says:

    How wonderful to hear of such blessing! I love you guys so much and am so glad to see the Lord’s provision! How awesome!

Leave a Reply

