Penelopologie

Last week Alex and I rented this amazing movie called “Penelope” starring Christina Ricci & James Mcavoy.

 This stunning fairy tale is about a girl cursed with a pig face that can only be broken if one of her own falls in love with her truly.  This is a beautiful, yet not typical fairytale, and I’m so glad we rented it. 

Apart from the amazing story, there were amazing set decorations and outfits in this movie. Her room is this brilliant wonderland of her own creations, plants, and toy-like items.  Her outfits are all embellished with items that she very well could have made herself, such as flower broaches and ribbon-ed belts.  The extras on the DVD stated that because Penelope was locked in her room her whole like, they figured her to be creative.  

I was inspired by this movie to find my own creativeness. I experimented this weekend with sewing some broaches and even wore one on Sunday, for which I received many compliments. When I decribed my inspiration for my creativeness to Jessica and Hannah, they both gasped with excitement. Jessica then stated that she was going to be Penelope for Halloween and that no one else could do it but her.  

My husband says, “Penelope is like Barbie for grown up girls.” 

I seem to agree with him.  So, why not have a little Penelope in your life?  And what better place to find Penelope like stuff then Anthropologie!

I know that I would probably spend the rest of my life embelishing clothes and looking like Penelope, and I think I will, but it’s wonderful to “ooo” and “aaaah” at the amazingness that is Anthropologie. Take a look at these Penelopologies I found:


Jess, I think I found your Halloween costume! Check out more at: www.anthropologie.com

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Penelopologie”

  1. Jessica Isaac Says:

    Ah, yes. Sometimes my immaturity gets a chance to shine in new ways. So I’m thinking instead of being Penelope for halloween we should just all be Penelope all the time. I’ve been looking for some key Penelope pieces and I found these green mary janes on ebay. They seemed to be the cheapest alternative to something like this . What do you think?

  2. natlpz Says:

    girl! I’m totally on ebay right now! you gotta love it!

  3. Jonna Says:

    Please stop posting things I desperately want but cannot afford. Who wants to go in on some lottery tickets? heh.

Leave a Reply

