VanZeyl Wedding Anniversary

For most (okay that’s a lie, all) of last week I was getting ready for two events; My aunt and uncle’s wedding anniversary and my friend’s wedding. They both had me running around crazy and I LOVED IT! I’ve recently been breaking into the event planning field and have received an amazing high from it. I love all the planning and collaborating of ideas and seeing it all pan out exactly how everyone wants it too. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, people are amazing when they put their minds to it. We can create amazing things that astonish all the time. Now, I know planning a party isn’t necessarily a work of art, but so much goes into making the planning and execution of it that it HAS to be!

Now this Anniversary was a milestone for me in two ways. One, our small little market catered it (120 people), we’ve never done something that huge before. And two, it was my first event that I’ve planned for someone by myself at a venue with a budget. WHOA! The venue was the Mitten Building in Redlands. A quant little building with many cool features. The staff was helpful and very artistic so they saw my vision and helped me pull it all together.

So you might be asking yourself, Nat, that all sounds amazing… so…. what’s the big deal? why so exhausted? Where do I begin? First of all, let me a give a HUGE shout out to Alex Creswell, whom without this nothing would have been possible. She drove me around trying to get everything the day of the event. First off, we went to the wedding rehearsal for the wedding on saturday in Tememcula, then we drove back to riverside to pick up her dad’s truck so we could go to my parent’s house and pick up my dad’s sound equipment for the party. Then we went home, packed all the decorations, and ran to Vons for the flowers, then headed to the mitten building. Then from 3:00 to 6:00 we decorated. Let me just say, planning a surprise party for your aunt who is also your boss is hard work. We had to create a fake catering order and then convince her not to show up until 6:00. yeah right. She should up at 5:00! luckily Amber caught her on her way in and made up something about how we needed croutons and needed to change because she looked horrible. 

We all pulled it together and overall it was a huge success. Hardly anything else went wrong and we danced the rest of the night away. I loved how everything turned out and I can’t wait to show you all pictures (taken by Alex Creswell, of course). There were fifteen tables, a dance floor, a d.j., circus performers, two bottles of wine at every table, a buffet of amazing food, appetizers, coffee, iced tea, and of course Diet Coke w/Lime. Smashing party if I do say so myself!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “VanZeyl Wedding Anniversary”

  1. Alicia Dallas Says:

    I’m not sure if I’m more excited to see the pictures or go to Vegas…I guess going to Vegas is a little more exciting but I’m also really stoked to see the pics. You are a creative genius my friend. :)

  2. acreswell Says:

    it was smashing. thanks for the shout out :)

Leave a Reply

