Curly not Burly

Ok, let’s talk hair. I was in the shower today and I started thinking about hair. I’m not bragging, but I constantly get asked, “how do you do your hair like that?” I thought you know, I should blog about it because I’m sure there are tons of other people out there you struggled like I did with a many poof their whole lives and never had a remedy for it. 

I used to hate my curly hair and I ALWAYS straightened it in high school. But as I’ve grown I’ve found that having curly hair is pretty awesome. My remedy for having curly hair may seem extensive, but trust me it saves tons of time in the end. 

Starting with the Shower, I learned from my hairdresser to alternate shampoos and conditioners about every week or two. Our hair, just like the rest of our body, builds up an immunity to the products you put in it (frequency of use also has a part in it) so it’s a good idea to change it up every once in a while. I alternate between Herbal Essences Totally Twisted & Garnei Fructis Curl & Shine. Your hairdresser will “poo poo” you, but it’s a lot cheaper than the stuff their selling you.

I shampoo with about the amount that they say to use, but I load on the conditioner (I have very dry hair). I also let it sit for about 3 minutes in my hair before washing it out. It’s like a mini mask for your hair and allows all the moisture to soak back in. 

After I get out of the shower I grab a small towel and lightly towel dry my hair. EXTREMELY IMPORTANT: when you have curly hair, it is vital that you do not rub your hair with the towel to dry it. Rather, tip your head to the side and scrunch it dry with a towel. Before it is “towel dry” make sure to put some of this amazing product in your hair.

Spray this somewhat generously over your hair but do not soak it. Then continue to scrunch. What I love about this product is that it’s not like mousse and won’t make your hair crunchy or wet looking. You’ll begin to see your hair curling up now but again, before it’s dry put some of this in your hair.


This, along with the previous product, changed my life.  This is a great product because the consistency is very creamy but it works like those wax based products our hairdressers use and we covet so much. You can turn your head upright now. Find your natural part or make a part and fix your bangs. If you like the sweepy kind, go ahead and brush them out. Otherwise continue on. 

Using your pointer finger of your dominant hand, begin twisting your hair. Pull your finger out and leave the twisted curl in place. The curl re-activator holds the curl in place. It may look a little weird but you will see as it begins to dry that the curl softens. Also, as it dries it is completely okay to lightly fluff your hair to detach some of the curls that are clinging together.  Just not ruffle it or it will get frizzy. 

This next product stands up to its name. John Frieda’s stuff can be on the pricy side, but totally worth it.I keep this product in my purse and apply it throughout the day or when I decide to change my hair style from down to up. It really gets those fly-aways and smoothes out my hair. 

For a finishing touch, I apply this hair spray. What I like most about it is that it allows my style to be flexible without being frizzy or my curls losing shape.

Like I said, I know this sounds like a lot but it’s worth it and in all honesty, once it becomes a routine it will take you at MOST (including the shower), twenty to thirty minutes. And, the best part of all, your curl will last about two to three days with minimal alterations. AMAZING. So, if you really think about it, you’re not spending much because you only have to wash your hair two or three times a week. More time for make up and your hubby/roommates will love the extra bathroom time too!

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Curly not Burly”

  1. Megan Says:

    Ohh the many personalities of Natalee’s Mane of Hair. I am glad you have successfully learned how to tame the beast! I am still amazed at how many days you can go before you have to wash your hair again.

  2. Jeanette Says:

    Wow, now i wish I had curly hair so I could go without washing it that long!

  3. Gerri Says:

    Taming the beast is a great way to put it!..Sometimes our hair really does feel like a burden – but it doesn’t have to! Learn to LOVE your hair!

    Excellence in hair care for excellent curly hair!

    Justuscurls.com

  4. acreswell Says:

    i cannot wait to run my fingers through your mane. i miss you the most.

  5. Mom Says:

    I can’t wait to use your ideas. Maybe I’ll like my curly hair again. I’m so glad you are able to love yours and not hate me for “giving” it to you. Much love!

  6. Jonna Says:

    I just read that at work. Shh. That was incredible. I think I will do all of that. I don’t want burly hair anymore!

    You should seriously submit that to some kind of beauty magazine.

  7. Samuel L. Says:

    I read your blog for quite a long time and should tell that your posts are always valuable to readers.

Leave a Reply

