Living Well in a Small Space

I think this month’s issue of Domino Magazine was written specifically for me. Any of my friends will tell you; I am the queen of living well. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not snooty or high maintenance… quite the contrary actually. But I do love to make my family, my guests, and of course myself feel good about being at my house.  This month’s Domino Magazine featured an article called 200 sq. ft. of style. Now I don’t live in a 200 square foot apartment (don’t think I EVER could), but this lady knows what she’s talking about.

Jennifer Koehler, the senior bookings editor for Glamour has a multi functional, light and airy palette for your 200 sq ft studio. Truly inspirational for me because we are living in a small apartment and can’t paint or put many holes in the wall.  Jennifer painted her walls a sand color and added a high gloss white trim around the edges and used the same technique about her fireplace and for a faux headboard in her bedroom. Genius.

She removed cupboard doors and displays all her dishes for easy access when cooking and for added character.  I say, what a great way to make sure you stay organized. She doesn’t have enough room for a silverware drawer so she stores it under her countertop behind a curtain. The people who built our apartment didn’t think to put in a silverware drawer so we bought a rod and some hanging buckets. then placed that over our stove for our silverware. 

She also made her VERY small bedroom appear larger by adding a horizontal mirror in her room; tricking the mind to see twice as much. We had wanted to do a similar thing to our dining room but instead opted for a round dinner table, chairs that stove underneath it, and “silver platter” artwork from the thrift store. Similar to the Rebecca Thuss idea of hanging plates.

The article continues on their website (genius) and lists 30 more ideas on how to live well in a small space. Here are a few that I felt stood out:“Hanging pots and pans on a rack saves counter and shelf space in a tiny kitchen.”

“Have a sense of humor. Display offbeat pieces together and rotate liberally to keep displays fresh and uncluttered.”

“Hide extra seating—for when company comes—under a table.”

“Transform a tiny kitchenette into a functioning chef’s space:

A magnetic wall strip contains the knives, and open shelves keep dinnerware close at hand.”

“Organization is key. Stow out-of-season clothing, files, and other things you don’t need every day in numbered boxes. A master list decoding the numbers guarantees you’ll be able to find what you need.”

NOW THAT’S MY KIND OF ORGANIZED!

“If clutter drives you crazy, create a serene space with a neutral palette.”

“Backless bookshelves separate living and sleeping areas without blocking light.”

“Use outdoor space as an extension of your home by arranging an airy, cozy lounge.”

YES PLEASE.

Living well doesn’t just mean being classy, it means making your life more, well, livable. 

Here’s the Article is you want to read more and gather your own thoughts.

Happy Reading!

 

Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to “Living Well in a Small Space”

  1. Megan Says:

    Natalee, you never cease to amaze me. God has gifted you in so many ways! I love the interior designer and hostess you are. I wish some of those passions had rubbed off on me some more. :) Love you and look forward to the new creative additions you have made to your already exquisite apartment!

  2. Alicia Dallas Says:

    Hey Girl I didn’t know you had a blog. Welcome to the blogging world :) Miss ya!

  3. Tiny Apartment Living Says:

    […] Living Well in a Small Space […]

  4. Jeanette Says:

    I’m pretty sure you’re my hero.

  5. Jessica Isaac Says:

    Wow, I’ve just discovered your blog and I am loving it. It’s so positive and useful. I want to hire you to be my life coach. (cute dog, btw!).

  6. Those wanting to build an outdoor fireplace Says:

    You may want to build a fireplace mantle for your own home. There are a couple of options to consider. There are pre-made units ready to be installed but if you are handy with tools you can save some money by choosing to build a fireplace mantel from scratch. Constructing a fireplace mantel creates a warm and welcoming environment for your home.

  7. Titmus@yahoo.com Says:

    umm… I am no

  8. mymnaccob Says:

    ICQ 3905826
    Offers ddos attacks / ddos service, but he is a RIPPER!
    DONT BUY DDOS AT HIM, HIS DDOS AND SHIT AND HE RIP YOUR MONEY!

    be carefully please!

    icq: 3905826

  9. Kitchen: Tiny Kitchen Roundup « DIGS Says:

    […] A tiny apartment kitchen via Brickabrack (originally from […]

  10. adatmentés Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it
    or something. I think that you can do with some pics
    to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog.

    A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  11. zynga poker Says:

    Wow, this paragraph is fastidious, my younger sister is
    analyzing such things, therefore I am going to convey
    her.

  12. Online Company Says:

    In case that your website is just published, it will not posses any one way links.

    When marketing a website, it is important to understand the tools and techniques that are used in order for your site
    to gain recognition in the search engines and to generate traffic.

    They should be unique from your overall site description
    and relate specifically to this article.

Leave a Reply

